Zombies In The Inbox

Cartoon of zombie chasing woman

“Help! Help!”

I was at the computer with the goal of managing my inbox this morning.  Forty-five minutes later here I am, project abandoned, writing this post.  While having 255 unread messages from all over the internet made me feel important, I already knew that the temptation to click on them would not deliver me from evil, but straight into the arms of TMI (too much information).  That information could be dangerous, as determined by whether it added or subtracted from other parts of my life.

Most of the “unread” did not arrive overnight.  They’ve been loitering for days previously, like virtual zombies.  They lie in wait, in various forms of decay, seeking opportunity to eat up my time.  They bribe me with special offers and events, to most of which I enjoy succumbing.  If only the cursed things would not multiply so quickly, my task would be more a pleasure and less a chore.

We’re not discussing the personal and business messages that I eagerly and happily process as quickly as possible.  I’m talking about the other emails – the ones left over that also have things to tell (sell) me.  They add up quickly.  I avoid them because I’d be forced to make decisions for each one. Decisions like, “to read or not”, “to go or not”, “to buy or not” and “to unsubscribe or not” are daunting when I’ve more pressing things to do.  I knew this even before starting. I also knew it would be smarter to ignore the unread.

Image of "free prize inside"

What could it be?

But procrastination does not get the job done.  Time zombies simply must be handled.  I began eyeing  them carefully, one-by-one, while repeating the chant, “Do not click.  Do not click” in my head.  It worked intermittently, so  often I was compelled to quell my curiosity like a kid with a cereal box reading “free prize inside”.  I can’t help it!  Too many times, my mind’s mantra changed from “Do not click” to “Must look inside”.  Nine emails and about an hour later I’m already battle-worn, have a couple more activities to fit into my schedule and oh, by the way…did I have any breakfast yet this morning?

So I removed myself from harm, knowing that the remaining 246 unread emails will grow even bigger before I attempt to tackle them again.  I do not need to eat – I do need to post.  Eventually I’ll exterminate the zombies.  While a clean inbox is a managed inbox, getting back to me (and you!) is more important.

How do you manage the zombies in your inbox?

Have a FABulous week!

Divorced and FABulous Tip of the Week:

Ignoring time zombies means more time to be FABulous!

Quote of the week:

“Use you head; cut off theirs.”

~ Max Brooks, The Zombie Survival Guide

New Places, things:

Anthony Robbins Ultimate Edge – A 3-Part System For Celebrating an Extraordinary Life In Any Environment

New Eateries:

Lunds and Byerly’s Creations Cafe – Hisho Sushi

One response

  1. I’ve taken my son’s advise…delete,delete, delete. Never reply because IF I do I’m sure to get numerous MORE e-mails for which I don’t want to respond. Unfortunately, some people slip through and someone I’ve met with an e-mail to me slip away. Oh, well, there are other ways to connect in this world if they are choose to do so. I do understand the temptation to check them out.

    Byerlys/ Lunds Restaurants. You can tell my age group by my memories. I recall “back in the day” going to the Hwy 100 Byerlys after bar closings to eat. Of course back then the bars closed at midnight. Also, the Lunds on Hwy 7 was my neighborhood restaurant and my Mom’s favorite to visit when she came to town. Located along the Lunds trail, as we called it, you could watch the walkers Winter and Summer while sipping a glass of wine and eating very fine food. Their Wild Rice Soup and White Chili were the greatest!!!!

    Last week attended the Saga Hill Cooking Class in the warehouse district of Mpls located in a very obscure location, but wonderful old building called Northwinds Lofts,a quant location with a European flare. It was a cool, cloudy and windy Spring evening. I loved the windows on the 2nd floor wide open with curtains blowing out in the wind. The instructor was “fabulous”. Marianne who has studied in Paris and only hires single Moms in her business,because she is one,was quite an informer and entertainer. For a reasonable price you could add unlimited wine to your cooking experience, which my 3 friends and I did do. I had been hesitant about going, but I would highly recommend it for men and women of all ages, whom I saw attending. Groupon has some great discounts.

    Last night I visited McCoy’s at Excelsior and Grand to visit with a friend I had not seen in a year or so. Great outside seating with dogs visiting as they were walked by their mates. I understand Mpls is considering dogs on their patios,given the AMOUNT of people who have dogs it will pass. In Holland I saw dogs lying at their master’s feet in bars, patios, etc. so we are catching up I guess. McCoy’s Flatbread pizza is great as are the HH prices. The night before I had a pleasant HH with a friend from San Diego at Amore Victoria…one of my fav/fab places in town. Time for me to take a break from the scene I would say, but too much life to live. Must do it while one can.

Leave a Reply

