Perfect Holiday Parties 2011 – the Divorced and Fabulous Way!

Photo of Be Merry wall plaque

Live it, love it, be it!

The first part of my November has always been about planning the upcoming holiday season.  I love to jot fun events on my calendar, select my best recipes for entertaining and pot-lucking, and think about special things to do that are exclusive to the last two months of the year.  In years gone by it was all hustle and bustle with a massive gift list, house cleaning, menus for gatherings and decorating my home festively.  Basically, it was a seven week marathon that encompassed everything and everyone possible.

Now Divorced and Fabulous, my planning is on a smaller scale.  I decorate only as much as I want, cook a lot less, and am free to concentrate more on the socializing and fun.  To give you an idea of the difference, one year I decorated five full-sized Christmas trees in my home (yes, it was a big home and one tree was 12-feet tall).  Last year I put tiny ornaments on two 3-foot Christmas trees perched on each side of my sofa in the living room.

That being said, I still enjoy developing all the little details of combining theme, taste and happenings for the holidays.  This year’s promises to be “pretty as punch” and fabulously fun!  So, just to get into the mood, I attended The Woman’s Club “Perfect Parties” event last Saturday.

It was a dazzling display of presents, presentations and primping items to make myself, home and gift-giving more beautiful and current.  Two notable ideas were the Minimergency kits as gifts and S’mores Martinis as a signature drink.

Photo of Minimergency Kit

No matter what your emergency - there's help in here!

Chocolate S’mores Martini

This Chocolate S’Mores Martini Recipe is Martini Daddy’s “Adults Only” version of the classic snack. All the gooey goodness without the campfire!

2 oz. Godiva® white chocolate liqueur
2 oz. vodka
Chocolate syrup
Marshmallow creme
Graham crackers

Prep the martini glass prior to mixing the drink. First, dip the rim of the glass in marshmallow creme. Next, roll the sticky rim in crushed graham crackers. Finally, swirl chocolate syrup around the inside of the glass. To mix the drink, fill a martini shaker half full with ice cubes. Add each of the liquors. Shake well for about 30 seconds or until frost forms on the shaker. Pour into the chilled martini glass. Garnish the drink with a marshmallow on a toothpick. Try a toasted marshmallow for an extra authentic taste!

Photo of Chocolate Smores Martini

Mmm, Mmm Good!

Thanks to Mpls St. Paul Magazine and Galleria for sponsoring this well-timed event.  It was just what I needed to get my holiday planning on!

Earlier in the week a friend and I lunched at Floyd’s in Victoria.  They have tasty food – check out the menu if you like.  I had the “Pretty Good Chili” and my friend the “Turkey Torpedo”, but Floyd’s is most renowned for a cocktail named “The Weekender”.  Most people who’ve had it calls it the “Best Bloody Mary in Minnesota”, and if you watch the WCCO news program report, you’ll see why.  I call it “breakfast in a glass” myself, and had gone with friends a year prior specifically for them.  Floyd’s was packed that weekend morning and “Weekenders” were everywhere you looked.  Oh yum!

How about you?  What things are you looking forward to enjoying this holiday season?  Where did you have your best bloody mary to date?

New place or thing

The Woman’s Club “Perfect Parties” event

New eatery

Floyd’s in Victoria, MN

Divorced and Fabulous tip #24

 Plan to make your holiday season better!

Divorced and Fabulous Quote of the Week

I have never savored life with such gusto as I do now.

~Candice Bergen

2 responses

  1. I’ve been browsing on-line more than three hours these days, yet I never discovered any interesting article like yours. It is beautiful worth sufficient for me. In my opinion, if all web owners and bloggers made good content as you probably did, the web will likely be much more useful than ever before. “Nothing will come of nothing.” by William Shakespeare.

Leave a Reply

