Meeting and Mating via Internet Dating

cartoon of two people speed-dating
“Enough about you…let’s talk about me!”

People meet, mate and date with the help of the internet every day.  So when single or divorced and fabulous men and women want to cast a wider net into their individual dating pools, internet dating can help them find his or her right “catch.”

Don’t admit that you could “never do it.”  It makes you sound like an old fogey or scaredy-cat.  And despite what you may think, not everyone on a dating site is desperate.  There are actually some attractive, nice people on dating sites who are not desperate at all.  I’m one of them!  So, if “waiting for the right person to come along” or trolling bars and grocery stores isn’t working for you, then it might be time to try something new.

If you do try internet dating, keep your standards high, expectations low and guard your personal safety.  When seeking romance, think of it like looking for a needle in a haystack.  If you reach a hand in, you’re bound to encounter a few pricks.  Do yourself a favor – wear a glove.  Not every person you meet deserves to know where you live or what your financial details are right away.

For this week’s post, I was happy to go with Susan to my very first “speed-dating” event.  It was great fun and I did find a mate, but not in the ways or with the person I had anticipated.

Misinformation prevented our speed-dating.  Susan and I showed up ineligible (did not pre-register) and an hour late (instead of an hour early) due to the group’s wrong internet invitation.  One look around the room told me that the snafu, as it turns out, was a blessing.

We did get to meet Prince there, though.  He also followed the internet misinformation and showed up when we did. He was not “The” Prince or “the artist formerly known as” Prince.  He was an agreeable gentleman named Prince who suggested we have our own “speed-date” in lieu the official one.

Cartoon of speed-skating gal and shadow
Dating get-away technique no. 356!

Unfortunately for him, Susan having none of it.  In moments we were “out the door” and “on the road.” And that, dear Reader, is how you turn speed-dating into speed-skating!

She and I high-tailed back to the safety of Champps, cocktailed and got better acquainted. Susan is also divorced and fabulous in Minneapolis. She has a wonderful attitude about herself, life and what she can bring into a love relationship. I admire her much and look forward to more adventures in novelty with her soon!

So, while speed-dating did not go as anticipated, speed-skating provided something better – the opportunity to get to know a stellar lady who is not afraid to pursue her goals by doing new things. Thanks, Susan for sharing this week’s adventure in novelty with me!

The new eatery for this week’s post is Pittsburgh Blue, in Maple Grove. I was there to meet a gentleman via another type of internet dating – the matching kind. He is attractive, accomplished and absolutely what he represented himself to be (and more)! He’s just one of several quality people (perhaps yet another Prince!) that dating sites have allowed me to meet.

Teela and Prince Adam at Sea

Image by St Stev via Flickr

Back to the restaurant, Pittsburgh Blue is a classy place with beautiful food presentation and great service. Be sure to check out their menu – just the right selections for divorced and fabulous people to meet and have a fabulous time.

Meeting and mating via internet dating is easy, refreshing and fun. What do you think? If you were single or divorced, would you do it? Please respond by commenting – I’d love to know!

3 responses

  1. I loved this weeks post you did. As a matter of fact, I actually did just sign up on one of the online dating sites last weekend. We’ll see what happens there. But I figure why not, can’t meet people by just sitting here doing nothing. I look forward to the possibilities. I really hope to attract the kind of person that I know is out there for me. Now I need to figure out what, where and when.
    Looking forward to next weeks post….
    Cindy

  2. Nice post. I learn something more challenging on different blogs everyday. It will always be stimulating to read content from other writers and practice a little something from their store. I’d prefer to use some with the content on my blog whether you don’t mind. Natually I’ll give you a link on your web blog. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

