Making Ordinary Extraordinary!

:-)

Image by victor_nuno via Flickr

Part of being Divorced and Fabulous is that you can take a simple chore and expand it with novelty and adventure.  I had one last week, and it turned into a perfect day.

While I cannot divulge details concerning the task, I can tell you it was fun all by itself.  What I can share with you are some of the other places my accomplice and I made time for before and after.  These lovely “side tracks”, some planned and some spontaneous, turned a beautiful summer day into a great one!

Our first stop was in Osseo, Minnesota.  At first glance, Osseo’s Main Street appears to be a regular Midwestern town, perhaps slightly hidden from modern “strip mall” developers.  You may have even been there before and thought nothing of it, so unassuming is its disguise.  But hidden behind storefront windows are treasures waiting to be found:

Osseo's Main Street
Here is a photo of Osseo’s Main Street in August 2011

S. R. Hoskins Fine Jewelry – The place I met wonderful Randy, who I commissioned five years ago to transform my wedding set into an “Independence Ring” when I first arrived in Mn.

Fashionista – Where purses, scarves, t-shirts and more is a dazzling display of witty accessories and gift items.

Osseo Meat Market & Deli – That smells absolutely delicious and is a world of fresh meat, spices and side dishes alone or prepared that can turn your regular family dinner into a regional event of your choosing (down south, up north, coastal or international) for a reasonable price.

And those are just the places we visited that day!

In full adventure mode and tittering with excitement, our second stop was at Turn>Style Consignment in Eden Prairie.  What luck!  Their summer merchandise was discounted to $2 each!   For that price, we couldn’t resist at least a bag of tops, bottoms and other goodies each.

At that point it was late afternoon (two women shopping, go figure) and time to get home before rush hour.  In the Twin Cities, the term “rush hour” can mean traffic anywhere from one to three hours or more.  So, car loaded, we travelled to our third destination and by far the best one.

My companion is truly lucky to call this place “home”.  We were welcomed, wined and dined by the best host and resident chef in Minnesota (her husband).  We lounged lakeside and relished the outing and supper that had become our very fine day.

Photo of a Minnesota Lake View
This is not the lake I’m talking about, but it’s an excellent example of a beautiful Minnesota Lake View

Hours later I drove home, realizing how fortunate I am to be Divorced and Fabulous in Minneapolis.  If I were still married, I would not have been here to enjoy this day.  If were not determined to build a new and fabulous life, I would not have found the fulfilling friendships I am grateful to have today.  It is amazing how much novelty and good company can add to what could have been a “just” a regular chore.

It was a perfect day, and I look forward to many more.

Have you ever had a perfect day?  Ever have a day where one thing developed into several good things?  Have you ever been grateful for challenges to your life plan that put you in a better place and time?  Feel free to share by commenting – I’d love to know!

3 responses

  1. Osseo is a great example of a little town inside the suburbs and sounds as if you found many treasures there. Two Women Shopping…Very Dangerous on the Credit Card!!!! Go for It!!!!

    My son and I discovered a little Mexican Restaurant “El Paraiso” at 3501 Nicollet Ave So, Mpls. We had been shopping at MOA earlier in the day and happened off 36th Street and 35W. We had the feeling we were back in Mexico at some neighborhood cafe with authentic music/pottery/plants, etc. Great mexican food and my son had the Mole’ Chicken Enchiladas for the first time. He initially had questions about chocolate in tomato sauce, but I tasted them too and they were excellent as was the homemade salsa and chips brought to our table voluntarily. No charge for the first servings. Sundays they have Mariachi Estrella 2pm to 4pm so it looks like a return visit will be nece necessary.

    Happened onto my “CarGuy” friends one night and a widower with homes “up north” in Edina and Florida. Heard some interesting stories to tell about the women after him…

    Also, met a nice young woman from Louisiana, named after a hurricane, working here as a property manager renting out apartments in new developments mostly around the U of M. She is adjusting to the Northland culture and weather.

    The people out here are remarkable and interesting!!!!

  2. Its like you read my mind! You seem to know a lot about this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you can do with some pics to drive the message home a bit, but other than that, this is wonderful blog. A fantastic read. I’ll definitely be back.

Leave a Reply

