Science Museum of Minnesota / Blue Water Grill

The Science Museum of Minnesota - south elevation

Image via Wikipedia

Do you like things that make you go “hmmm”? I do. I went to the Science Museum of Minnesota last week and did a lot of that. It’s located in St. Paul, part of a cultural mecca that includes the Ordway Center for the Performing Arts and Xcel Energy Center.

Wonder begins immediately upon entering. If you look up, you’ll see the Quetzalcoatlus  suspended above you.  He is the largest flying reptile ever found.   With a wingspan of 30′ and the idea that I might fit in his belly, I was glad I was looking at a skeleton and not a live prehistoric creature!

I could blog lots more about what I saw at the museum. Perhaps describe the random and beautiful tones of the “musical stairway”. Or attempt relating how scary a stuffed (and standing!) grizzly bear can still be. The museum housed a number of amazing things and I could go on about every one I observed. But I my companions and I were there for a specific purpose – to view the King Tutankhamun Exhibition – and I need to get to that before this blog gets too long in length.

Tomb of Tutankhamun in the Valley of the Kings

Image via Wikipedia

What could be so interesting about this dead Egyptian Pharaoh? Is it that

  • He is “The Boy King” and died an untimely death?
  • That his tomb is the largest cache of burial treasures ever found – over a thousand items?
  • That he wasn’t found within a pyramid but hidden?
  • That his tomb supposedly contained a curse should anyone ever find him?

I’m not sure why he is so interesting, only that my curiosity has always been piqued by the ways of ancient Egyptians.

Other facts were presented.  For instance:

• His birth name was “Tutankhaten”, later changed to “Tutankhamun” to reflect the difference between his god and the god of his father Akhenaten.
• The Egyptian mummification practice evolved from the myth of Isis and Osiris and is meant to help the dead with their lives in the afterworld.
• Items (including food, household implements and furniture) are placed in tombs to make afterlife easier. Sometimes slaves and even pets were included to ensure eternal happiness.
• Statues are not necessarily representations of the person, but a symbol representing a “perfect” person, and sometimes statues were reused by removing one name and replacing it with another.

These things tugged at my interest and attempted to pull me into further investigation.  Perhaps this is how individual passions are born.  The Science Museum is not just a presenter of facts, but compeller of new thought and awareness by encouraging us to ask questions (who, what, where, when and why) and explore for answers on our own.

Like my blog, or at least as I intend it to be.

To expound that last point, my new restaurant last week was the Blue Water Grill at the Hilton East.   Noted as one of the best restaurants in the twin cities and specializing in seafood, I tried their Blue Water Trio on the Dinner menu. Extremely fresh and yummy and just the right sized serving for lunch – loved the smoked salmon timbale!

I was at the Hilton continuing my education on Aihu products.  You may recall that I linked this holistic and 100% natural skin care products line a couple of weeks ago during Hopkins Raspberry Festival.  Because I was intrigued at the booth, I wanted to know more about Aihu.  I really like it and the people I met at their annual convention, and will be sharing even more about this company in the future.

By the way, I’d like to send a big “HELLO” to the Aihu ladies now subscribing to the blog. Thanks so much for welcoming me to your Aihu convention, and for your interest in the blog!

It was fun to read last week’s comments – thanks so much for your participation!  For this week, have you ever been to a science museum or exhibit? Which ones and what was your favorite? I’d love to hear more!

4 responses

  1. I enjoyed reading about the King Tut exhibit. Quite interesting and facinating to see I’m sure. I have done 2 exhibits there which were the Titanic exhibit and Human Body ( I can’t remember what it was called), both of which were very good. Looking forward to what and where you go to next week. Have a good weekend…Cindy

    • I’m so happy you liked the post, Cindy! I’d have loved to see “Titanic”, and I was told that the Human Body exhibit was so realistic that the museum put up, um “barf stations” for weaker stomachs. You have a good week and weekend, too…

  2. Carol and I had the pleasure of being on Debbie’s expedition to see the King Tut exhibit.
    Well worth the time – but suggest that one do a little research. There are several very well done and easy to understand tutorials on the History Channel home page.

Leave a Reply

