MN Landscape Arboretum / Culver’s

Minnesota Landscape Arboretum photo of Canadian geese crossing street

Minnesota Canadians taking an afternoon jaunt

Pink Roses in the Rose Garden

Last Sunday I visited the Minnesota Landscape Arboretum.  While I’ve been there many times and am a member, I consider it a “new” place every time I go.  In case you’ve never been to one, an arboretum is an area planted with many types of trees for study, display, and preservation.  While there are trees aplenty here, there is also a wide variety of flora and fauna, too.  To learn more about the MN arboretum, I’ve included the Wikipedia description here.  It is a living collection that is ever-growing and changing, carefully tended and shared with the public.  Signs posted offers history and horticulture facts to better enjoy where you are and what you are seeing.  In the main hall is a bulletin board that keeps you current on the sightings of the four-legged and fowl, many species have been residents there for generations.

If you’ve never been there, just bite into a Haralson or Honeycrisp apple the next time you get a chance.  The U of M is the major caretaker of the arboretum, and developed both variations of this sweet round fruit as well as almost 100 fruits and ornamental plants.

I did the three-mile drive, stopping at the Berens cabin to read the originating family’shistory and the rose garden.  One of artist Steve Tobin‘s sculptures was close by.

Steve Tobin's "Untitled" at the MN Landscape Arboretum

Steve Tobin's "Untitled" at the MN Landscape Arboretum

White Rose at the MN Landscape Arboretum

White Rose at the MN Landscape Arboretum

My visit had a purpose.  At 2 pm, the Arboretum was offering a free concert for visitors  in the Macmillan Auditorium, and I was attending so I could  see and share with you.

It was a chorale ensemble.  A chorale is a singing group that specializes in a particular style of music, especially church music.  It wasn’t my intention, but I was reminded of both the power of coordinated effort and the joy that beautiful music can bring.  The Two Rivers Chorale is a community choir local to the Twin Cities, and while their vocals were reminiscent of a church choir, their songs were a selection centered around a global view and Louis Armstrong’s rendition of “What a Wonderful World“.  I was really glad I went.  Seating for 100 was filled.  I also picked up their recent CD to give to my mom, whose voice and singing style would have fit in easily.

After a nice afternoon of lovely sounds and sights, I headed east and landed at the Lakewinds Natural Food store.  I simply cannot resist checking out unusual grocery stores, and picked up a couple things to try.  Of them, the Eden Organic Spicy Pumpkin Seeds sounded like a fun snacking adventure for another time.

Next, it being Sunday and almost at the end of the week, I chose the fast food restaurant chain Culver’s to complete my mission for the week.   It’s my brother’s favorite chain burger, and after being here in Minnesota for five years, I thought today would be a good time to try one.  One word to describe it?  Dee-licious!

So that was my one new place and one new restaurant for last week, plus the new grocery store, too!  It’s really cool that I can carve out a couple hours a week to explore novelty.  I hope you can, too!

Also new this week – putting photos and a fun poll on this site (check it out by clicking the http address underneath the title of this post if you’re a subscriber!) where you can vote and see current results!


					
Leave a Reply

